The first active meeting was held on January 15th 1926, when G.Green, W.Green, J.Heaven and Radcliffe met at Cameron's flat, whence they adjourned to St. John's Mission to practise Sleights. After this they went to Reeve Hall for Country Dance practice with the Lumps of Plum Pudding. This first tentative link with the ladies' team was to develop into a close association lasting for more than thirty years. Each team preserved its independence but joined the other for country dancing. Both names have connections with the Morris. Wryesdale 'Greensleeves' is a dance for three men, nearly always 'guyed' for show purposes, while 'Lumps of Plum Pudding is a name given to several Morris Dances and well known to most Morris Men as a Morris Jig.

Club costume originally comprised bell pads and baldrics in colours of own choice, white flannels, white plimsolls and no hats. Green armlets were worn for the first time at a demonstration in Bethnal Green in November 27th , 1926. For sword dances, bells and baldrics were taken off and leather shoes substituted for plimsolls. Incidentally, bells were always worn at the weekly practices, because it seemed to be of use to the musicians.

During 1927 the Club began to study a sword dance from the small island of Papa Stour in the Shetlands. Cameron, whose family estate was the Isle of Bressay, 'found' the dance, collected all the information about it and brought it south, first of all to Greensleeves. The unusual, perhaps unique, characteristics of the dance are the long and flexible swords, the presence of seven dancers, the fascinating seven pointed star made by the double locking of the swords, and the unusual tune to which the dance is done. It is performed to this day at the annual Shetland festival of Norse origin, called Up-helly-aa (but not by Greensleeves).

The last practice before the summer break of 1929 brought something of a shock in the form of a statement from Cameron who

"...confessed that he was about to leave London and live at home in Shetland, and as that was seven hundred miles away, regular attendance on Fridays would be difficult. It would obviously be a pity - to put it mildly - if this, the only club of its kind in London, were to cease to exist, but the scarcity of men and the difficulties in the way of such as there are make its maintenance difficult."

[Home] [Where to see us] [Join Us] [About us] [How we started] [1926 to 1929] [1929 to 1940] [1940 to 1976] [1976 -] [Squires] [Chipperfield] [Photos from 2016] [Photos from 2015] [Older Photos] [Videos] [Music Sessions] [What is Morris?] [From earlier years] [Links] [Newsletters] [Contact Us]